This image was borne out of a malapropism I committed several years ago, where I confused the words foliage and plumage and then declared with ill-advised confidence that ravens are distinguished by their foliage. The mistake, and the subsequent mental image, have stuck with me since; it’s only today that I chose to illustrate it:

I should say I’m happier with the wing branches than the leaves, which perhaps I ought to have made larger; I’m proud of the raven’s posture though.

In other news I’d like to thank and give first-time shout-outs to illustrator Greg at Bionic Eye Comics for liking the blog, to writer Seventh Voice for subscribing, and to artist Ray Ferrer at Urban Wall Art & Murals and writer Lesley Carter at Bucket List Publications for liking Torch Sign; go investigate their blogs at the links above. I’d also like to give further shouts to Miss Zari, Doodle Dad, The Sofi’s World and Lois for also liking Torch Sign.

